The list of Invasive Alien Species of Union concern is at the heart of the IAS Regulation. T

It is a dynamic list, which means that the Commission and Member States can propose new species for inclusion. A species makes it onto the list based on evidence-based risk assessments. Click here to learn more about the process, from proposal to potential inclusion on the Union List.

The current list contains 88 species, which includes 47 animals and 41 plants. The first Union list entered into force on 3 August 2016. Its first update was on 2 August 2017. On 14 August 2019, a second update added 17 new species to the list, and a third update (2 August 2022) added another 22.

Click below to find out more about those species.

                                                                                      PLANTS                                               ANIMALS